mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Chickpea and I had our 18-week midwife appointment this morning and saw two midwives. Apparently a new chick just joined the practice, so for her "orientation" she's accompanying the others on their visits. Probably she has to do that for a while before they let her do her own visits. Anyway, I liked the new chick a lot, although of course I already forgot her name. Ah well. I'll see her again.

My weight is back up to where it was at my very first visit, before I lost all those pounds due to nausea. So I've gained three pounds since my last visit, although (I know I say this every time) it's all approximate since they weigh me clothed. Some clothing weighs more than others, you know? But anyway, that's an acceptable weight gain, and my blood pressure and urine protein content are all normal too. The top of my uterus is almost at my navel, which is a little advanced (shouldn't be there for another two weeks) but not in the worrying sense.

Chickpea gave a big kick as we were listening to the heartbeat, which was pretty funny. It was like, "whoomwhoomwhoomwhoomWHOMP!" :) The heart rate was about 125 beats per minute, which is well within the normal range. According to an old wives' tale this means it's a boy (under 140 is a boy, over 140 is a girl) but as with almost all old wives' tales for predicting gender, that's really a myth. (And there are a ZILLION such gender-prediction methods. It's kind of funny.)

As usual at the end of the visit, the midwife asked, "do you have any questions?" and immediately my mind went blank. I know I should write down my questions, and if any were really plaguing me I would, but usually all I have is "idle curiosity" questions, or questions for which I've already looked up answers in books and/or online, so I don't feel desperate to get the midwife's opinion as well, so the questions fly out of my head. Of course, I could call them any time anyway.

Anyway, between the two of them they wrote down a bunch of stuff for me, including the names of a woman who runs a prenatal exercise class at the Waltham Y, a woman who runs a hypnobirthing class, and a woman who's both a midwife and a physical therapist and who, they said, has a website with a lot of good info. So I have to check that out. They also have a "Meet the Midwives" event in late March, which takes place at the hospital where the birth will happen, and which involves a tour of the birthing facilities as well as introductions to all the midwives and a little presentation about their philosophy and so forth. I have to talk to my mom and see if I can convince her to go to it with me. She already agreed to be there at the birth with me, so.... :)

anyway, that's the latest scoop on the pregnancy situation. Oh, and my boss has, it turns out, attended a large number of births (including his own three kids). He told a story about one time when he attended an emergency birth in a yurt in the woods. Well, clearly he's the guy to have around if I suddenly go into labor at the office. ;)

My belly seems bigger by, like, the minute. I need to take more pictures. It's been a whole week. ;)

Date: 2003-02-19 04:16 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tiggrrl.livejournal.com
I have a friend who's trained in hypnobirthing, as well as massage and a few other things, and it sounds really cool. If you can afford it, I think you should go for it!

Date: 2003-02-19 04:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] retch.livejournal.com
hypnobirthing??
That sound strange.
It's so neat that you are pregnant! Yay Joan!

HUG

Date: 2003-02-20 08:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
yeah, I'm a little skeptical about hypnobirthing too, but mainly its purpose is to help relax during labor and minimize pain -- my midwife suggested it after I said that I wanted a drug-free birth. So I'm open to checking it out, unless it's horribly expensive.

It's so neat that you are pregnant! Yay Joan!

aw, thanks! :) It feels a lot neater now that I don't feel icky all the time. :)

Date: 2003-02-20 02:17 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] velcroswench.livejournal.com
Good to hear that your checkups are going so well. :) Personally I've considered having the bath baby...(whatever the real term for that is)...but since I don't want to have children this is probably a moot point. Lol you're satisfying all my curiousity about the process without me actually having to go through it.

Date: 2003-02-22 10:22 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
LOL, happy to be of service. ;)

Date: 2003-02-20 09:50 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lasayla.livejournal.com
Hey, if you keep taking pics, you could make an animated gif of your belly growing!


http://www.ironycentral.com/babymain.html

This was in one of [livejournal.com profile] azurelunatic's flying bookmark posts recently, so you may have already seen it. I'm not sure how much useful information is there, but it's definitely worth a read, if only because the guy's writing style is entertaining.

Date: 2003-02-22 10:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
An animated gif!!! What a great idea. Of course, someone else will have to make it for me since I suck, but I'm sure someone will step up. :) Yay!

And yes, I've had that site bookmarked for ages now. It cracks me up. :)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:18 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios