bleah

Dec. 2nd, 2002 10:35 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
It's been so long since I updated, I don't know where to start.

Let's get the Thanksgiving stuff out of the way first: much family, much food, much fun, and then I was tired. And then I basically wasted the rest of the 4-day weekend. And now I'm back at work. Urgh.

Yesterday my mom and I hung out at her place. We had intended to go see a movie but we couldn't agree on one. I wanted light and fluffy like James Bond; she wanted heavy and "cultural" like the Motown thing. We decided to compromise on Harry Potter. We even picked a theater and showtime, but when it came time to leave, we were like, "whine, we're too tired to sit through a whole movie." So we didn't go. Wow, are we lame. ;) We did eventually go to Circuit City and Home Depot, where we bought rechargeable batteries, a battery charger, and weather-stripping. On the way home, we said, "wow, was that the lamest most pointless errand excursion ever?" 'Cause we could have just walked two blocks from mom's place to the nearby hardware store and gotten all that stuff there. Man, we were lame. ;)

I put weather-stripping on a couple of the windows in my apartment. It gets VERY drafty on account of not having storm windows (how can any house in New England get away with not having storms? I ask you) and then I get annoyed at the thought of how much extra I'm probably paying for heat. Plus the fact that, you know, it's COLD. Even with the heat on. So I put it on a couple of windows and then realized that I didn't buy nearly enough of the damn stuff. Well, any more will have to wait till I get back from Japan.

Which, by the way, it's exactly one week from today that we leave. Augh! At least the luggage situation has been solved. My mom bought herself a new huge suitcase, which means I can use her old smaller one as my second one. I'll have two expandable suitcases about the same size. I figure I'll put my Hawaii stuff in one and Japan stuff in the other. There should be plenty of space left for souvenirs and such. The other main thing I have to worry about this week is food. I'm worried about getting hungry (e.g., the munchies) either on the plane or at some point between meals in Japan. I plan to buy a bunch of jars of nuts and dried fruit and such to take along. The plane itinerary from the travel agent says "multiple meals" on the long (13-hour) leg of our trip to Japan, but I still worry. And that reminds me, I also have to call and request vegetarian multiple meals.

Mom gave me some of the leftover turkey from Thanksgiving to give to Bini. He hasn't had turkey, certainly in the two years he's been with me, don't know about before that. I put some of it in his dish and he sniffed it, looked at me, sniffed it, looked at me, meowed plaintively, sniffed it again. Then I tried going about my business to show him I didn't care, and he just sat there next to his dish watching me move around the apartment. But this morning the turkey was all gone, so I'm assuming he eventually got over his fear of it. LOL! Crazy kitty.

More later.

Date: 2002-12-02 10:39 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] darthfi.livejournal.com
Usually airlines are pretty good at giving you extra food when you need it - chum up the hostesses and you should be fine.

You're more likely though to find that you're less hungry. There's something about long haul that kills the appetite.

Have fun!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:13 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios