d'oh

Nov. 13th, 2002 10:45 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
Lots of friends-only entries lately. But there is some stuff to say outside of 'em....

Didn't get to see "Buffy" yet. Hoped to see it tonight but a friend called and we chatted for a while, and then I had to take a long hot shower/bath because I wasn't feeling well.

Did get to watch "Smallville" though. Snif. I'm such a sucker for those tear-jerky plots where you know exactly what's going to happen but it gets to you anyway.

I don't have anything meaningful to say about "Angel" either. I thought it was fairly lame, which makes me sad since it was Joss-written.

Work is going well. There was a review recently of our soon-to-be-released new product, and said review specifically mentioned the documentation in glowing terms. Yay, warm fuzzies! What's especially cool is that I like all my coworkers so much. It's a really friendly, relaxed atmosphere.

I got my Sports Night DVD collection in the mail today. Woohoo! I would have ripped it open and watched a few eps immediately, but see above re: friend calling.

I'm wondering whether I should try a trial run of the dish I'm planning to make for Thanksgiving. It's a casserole with macaroni, tofu, veggies, and cheese. I found it online and have never actually made it before. It seems pretty simple, but I'm such an idiot about cooking *g* that a trial might be a good idea.

In other news, there's a debate going on amongst my immediate family about what to do for holiday gifts. Although we are Jewish, we have celebrated Xmas for many years, if by celebrate you mean making an effort to be together for that week, putting up a tree, hanging stockings, and exchanging gifts on December 25th. It started when I was little because my mom had a friend who introduced her to the joys of decorating a tree, and of course little kids love getting presents, so it became a tradition even though it's not our religion/ethnicity.

But anyway, for the past few years we've been toning it down -- setting limits on how many gifts to give per person, etc. -- and this year my mom is saying that she thinks we should just not exchange gifts at all.

At first I was sad, because hey, presents! But then I saw the wisdom. For one thing, mom and I will be in Japan/Hawaii from December 9th through 22nd, which is when we'd be doing all the shopping; not only will this make it hard for us to find and wrap and send gifts in time, we also expect to be feeling pretty cash-strapped when we get back. Plus it's hard to buy gifts for people, at least it's hard to be creative and get them something they really want. It seems lame, in some senses, to just say, "I want this CD/I want this book" and then get those things for each other. We might as well just buy ourselves what we want. It's not like we require an exchange of gifts to show that we care about each other. And we can still fuss over each other on birthdays.

So, if we do end up doing it (we're going to consult with my brother first), it'll be a bit weird, but this whole holiday season is going to be weird anyway with our trip thrown in. ETA: Since my brother's birthday is Dec. 10th, we'll probably get him a few gifts and send them before we leave.

Guess that's about it for the update. Now to see whether I can stick with my newfound resolve to get to bed by midnight every night. Wish me luck! ;)

Date: 2002-11-14 07:02 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kenboy.livejournal.com
Bless you, again, for mentioning the Sports Night release the other week; we got ours Tuesday, so we were able to watch a bunch of episodes just last night, and lemme tell you: I can't believe they left in the damned laugh track.

Also, this won't spoil this week's West Wing, if you didn't watch it yet, but there's a scene in it where Josh is asking Jeremy, er, Will Bailey, about something or other, and it's so like the scene in the Sports Night pilot where Dana is interviewing Jeremy for the AP job.

Ah, good times...

Date: 2002-11-15 11:18 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
As I understand it, they actually filmed the first few episodes with a live audience but then decided it didn't work with the show's format.

And yeah -- I had just finished watching this week's WW when your post came in! It *was* kind of like that scene, wasn't it? But then, in general it was just very Sorkin.

Date: 2002-11-16 08:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kenboy.livejournal.com
That it was.

By the way, have you noticed the FedEx commercials lately? They feel really Sorkiny, but I haven't been able to confirm is he's involved or not.

Date: 2002-11-16 08:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
I have TiVo. I never need to watch commercials any more. :) No, I haven't seen the FedEx ones, but I'll look for 'em now!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:00 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios