mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
First of all, let me just say, EW!

And with that out of the way, my other thoughts:

I thought it was really a very interesting episode. The whole "they can't see each other" metaphor was kind of anvilicious, but I didn't actually know what was causing it, and I was really kept guessing, until Willow fessed up. (Maybe I'm just dumb though.) It was a whole new twist on the invisibility concept, which of course they've already done twice on the show (thrice now) but each time in a very different way, which keeps it engaging.

It was also interesting to note how Spike fit in -- both insane and not; seeming insane when he wasn't (because he was talking to them but they couldn't see each other) and seeming sane when he wasn't (gotta love the "I'm insane, what's your excuse?" bit, LOL!). I'm a little confused over what happened after the end of last week's ep though -- what, did Buffy just abandon him sizzling on the cross? I thought it was kind of implied that he was going to let himself burn to death unless she stopped him. Fanfic fodder of the fill-in-the-blanks sort, I guess.

I continue to love CompetentDawn -- now with Second-Season-Willow-style computer skills! And cracking the witticisms even while paralyzed! Go Dawn! :) And Anya, I'm just loving her more and more all the time. Her displays of tact alternating with lack thereof, showing that she *is* in some ways putting on a false front; her strange but touching vulnerabilities, her very helpful moments of calm competence. Even before she said "this isn't gonna get sexy, is it?" I was already seeing slashy vibes twixt her and Willow. (Eek!) And speaking of, when Anya later said "hmm, it did get sexy for a moment there didn't it," did you catch Willow's/Alyson's expression? LOL!!! She flashed so quickly through "hmm, yeah it did" and on to "ew! no!!" That was priceless.

I think there were hints of an eventual Anya/Xander reconciliation in the way Anya harped on him when Willow asked her about everyone. But I could go a lot of ways; I've also been seeing hints of Buffy/Xander since approximately "Hell's Bells," and now, of course, Willow/Anya.

This episode definitely goes down as the most gruesome one yet, and I've seen 'em all so I say that with certainty. (Is it something about this week? Last Friday's "John Doe" was particularly squicky as well.) Was the Hannibal Lecter bit really necessary? Dude, fuckin' ew.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:18 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios