mamajoan: me in hammock (spike)
[personal profile] mamajoan
I said yesterday that I wasn't excited about the Buffy and Smallville season premieres. Of course, once they actually began, all that changed! ;)

I liked it. A lot.

Things to like:
1. Competent Xander with the spiffy suit and car.
2. Dawn getting trained to slay, instead of protected like a delicate flower. (I really have never understood why so many people in the fandom hate Dawn so much. I like her. I like what her creation did to the character dynamics, I like the evolving relationship between her and Buffy, and I especially like the fantastic acting of Michelle Trachtenberg. So there.)
3. Willow being allowed to use magic responsibly, rather than just "magic is bad, you must never use it again."
4. Going back to the beginning -- back to high school.
5. Buffy going to work at the high school. Saw it coming a mile away, but still love it. Love. It.
6. Dawn getting her own set of Scoobies.
7. Return of the snappy snarky dialogue.
8. The new Big Bad. My theory is that it's an incarnation or personification of the Hellmouth itself. That explains it appearing to Spike as each of the previous six seasons' main villains (in reverse-chronological order). Of course, my theories are never right, but there's a first time for everything....
9. Anya, with the ambivalence, and the angst, and the ultra-conservative clothing. And the hair back to normal color. Yay!

Things to possibly like:
1. Spike being all weird and freaky. Hey, as long as it's not "broody Angel-like remorse" and not "same old Spike, but now with soul," I'm tentatively happy. I'll reserve judgment for a few more eps, though.
2. The new principal. Reserving judgment on him too. He may yet turn out to be evil. Or, as someone on my friends-list suggested, to be Buffy's new love interest. Ehh. I'm not sure how I feel about that yet. We'll see.

Things to dislike:
1. Willow's clunky dialogue. Ah well, even Joss has his moments.
2. Buffy's super-frumpy white outfit in the school. Forget mom hair, she had grandma clothes. Ew.
3. Halfrek still hanging around. Make her go away. Please.

Overall, I was VERY happy with the episode and am looking forward to the season. Yay!

I'll do Smallville in another post.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:55 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios