mamajoan: me in hammock (us being wacky mar 2011)
[personal profile] mamajoan
On Sunday we went to the mall and while I was looking at clothing for myself, I suggested that Isaac might also want to try on some pants. He refused, because he just wanted to get out of the mall as fast as possible.

Then yesterday morning it was chilly, and guess what...Isaac couldn't find any pants to wear and got annoyed. Gee, no one could have possibly seen that coming!

We managed to dig up one pair of pants that was a) clean and b) free of holes in the knees and c) not too terribly small. But he rejected those pants because they had some paint stains. "It looks like someone barfed on them." He's worn those pants with that paint on them a million times and never cared! Until today. Of course.

So he ended up going to school in shorts. And has a valuable lesson been learned? By me, perhaps.... *eyeroll*

(Isaac was perfectly happy to go to the mall, mind you, because he wanted new sneakers -- which he got -- and a visit to GameStop to look at new 3DS games -- which he also got. But by the time we came to the part where I wanted to look at clothes for myself in the Land's End store, he and Ruthie had had enough and wanted to leave. I had planned it that way on purpose because I didn't want *me* to spend too much time looking at clothes! And buying new pants for Isaac wasn't high on my priority list, although I did know it needed to be done. But I probably should have planned it out differently and insisted that he try on some pants. On the other hand, as of this morning Land's End is having a big pants sale on their website, so maybe it's just as well. I can order some online and Isaac can try them on in the comfort of our own home.)

I mentioned above that we went to GameStop as part of that same mall trip. Among other things, we bought a used Wii game, but upon getting home I discovered that there was no disc in the case. (At GameStop they put out empty cases on the shelves, and the salesperson is supposed to put the disc/cartridge into the case when you buy it.) I was really bummed because we had all been looking forward to an evening of snuggling on the couch playing the new game together.

I immediately called the store and spoke to the salesperson who had rung me up. The store had just closed so there wasn't much she could do except say that I should come back the next day and they'd give me the disc. I said huffily that I didn't want to come all the way back there, and could I bring it to a different GameStop that's closer to me? She said yes. I made it abundantly clear that I was really displeased with all this, and I paused several times, leaving big conversational openings for her to fill with an "I'm really sorry" or similar -- but she didn't. She just let those pauses hang there in awkward silence until I gave up.

So I was annoyed enough to go to the website on the receipt ("tell us how we did and be entered to win a gift card!") and filled out the survey, venting my spleen not just about the mistake itself but about the salesperson's failure to apologize and her cheery attitude, making it sound like a whole nother trip to GameStop is a big lark, rather than the big annoyance that it actually is.

Yesterday I got an email in reply from the district manager, apologizing and saying all the things that the salesperson should have said ("I understand what an inconvenience this is for you," etc. etc.) -- including telling me that she should have offered me the option of having the disc mailed. And he asked for her name.

I felt a little hesitant, because I don't want to get anyone fired or in trouble, really. On the other hand, she made several big mistakes; not putting the disc in the case was an understandable (if very annoying) mistake, but then she failed to apologize, which to me is huge, AND failed to tell me that I could have the disc mailed. So in the end I did email him back and gave him her name. I hope she doesn't actually get fired.

Meanwhile, Ruthie spent $35 of her own money on a new DS game, and now she can't play it because her DS has suddenly decided not to charge when plugged in. I sense this is going to turn into an expensive problem. :( On the plus side, the DS itself only cost her something like $10 since we bought it from a kind friend....

Part of this post was originally a Facebook status, and the rest of it was going to be another FB status but then I decided it was too long. I also have a whole bunch of half-written posts that I need to get up here eventually....

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:37 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios