Shout-outs
Dec. 22nd, 2010 09:47 pmI forgot to wish
orbitalmechanic a happy birthday on her actual birthday, but I saw her the day before and said happy birthday then so that counts. ;)
I also forgot to wish
whuffle and
yulecat happy birthdays yesterday, so happy belated birthday to them, and anyone else I also missed, sorry.
But in particular,
whuffle has been on my mind this week, because I showed Isaac a shoelace-tying technique that Whuffle taught me ages ago, and it worked beautifully! Isaac had been getting frustrated with his difficulties in learning how to tie his shoes, but Whuffle's technique turned out to be easier for him and now he puts them on and ties them every morning without complaint -- even with alacrity. Yay!
(In this day and age, kids are learning to tie shoes a lot later than my generation did -- if ever! Because they almost all have Velcro, of course. One of the other moms in Isaac's class told me that she was recently volunteering in the classroom and they were doing some project that involved tying knots, and half the kids were (she says) in tears because they couldn't do it, and the teacher was not understanding the problem. Ah the pitfalls of technology!)
Ruthie still needs me to tie her shoes, but she'll get it eventually, I guess. It is awfully tricky for little fingers.
I also have to give, as always at this time of year, a big shout-out to
hawkeye7. He really oughtn't ;) but every year he does anyway, send us a bunch of stuff from my Amazon wishlist, which is so generous and sweet and lovely. This year he sent, among other things, "Scrabble Flash" which I've been majorly lusting after. I mean, I wanted to get it for the kids, but I also really really wanted it for myself because it looks so cool. ;) It's basically five electronic cubes, and they'll each show a letter and you put them together and they can sense when they're touching and then they tell you if you made a valid word. So now I'm looking at this box and thinking...I really shouldn't open it and play with it until Saturday...but...I wanna play with it NOW! I mean, uh, I should really make sure it works before I give it to the kids, right? RIGHT??
Or not. *SIGH* Being the grownup is so haaaard sometimes.
In other news, I took tomorrow as a vacation day, and the company is closed Fri and Mon, so I'm off for five days now. w00t!
I also forgot to wish
But in particular,
(In this day and age, kids are learning to tie shoes a lot later than my generation did -- if ever! Because they almost all have Velcro, of course. One of the other moms in Isaac's class told me that she was recently volunteering in the classroom and they were doing some project that involved tying knots, and half the kids were (she says) in tears because they couldn't do it, and the teacher was not understanding the problem. Ah the pitfalls of technology!)
Ruthie still needs me to tie her shoes, but she'll get it eventually, I guess. It is awfully tricky for little fingers.
I also have to give, as always at this time of year, a big shout-out to
Or not. *SIGH* Being the grownup is so haaaard sometimes.
In other news, I took tomorrow as a vacation day, and the company is closed Fri and Mon, so I'm off for five days now. w00t!
no subject
Date: 2010-12-23 04:21 am (UTC)My daughter's school has a uniform, including requiring tie shoes. They're generating anomaly children - 5 year olds who can tie their shoes. (And have to, because they change from their school shoes into gym shoes or dance slippers every day.) When Zoe started there, we had to have shoe-tying bootcamp. I stapled shoe laces to a board and had her practice until she got it.
Most of her non-school friends cannot tie shoes yet. It surprises me that a teacher would not be aware of this trend.
no subject
Date: 2010-12-23 06:27 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2010-12-24 03:37 pm (UTC)