new car

Sep. 13th, 2010 11:04 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[personal profile] mamajoan
(In which I attempt to get back into LJ by posting shorter snippets rather than try to do comprehensive updates)

I bought a new (used) car a couple weeks ago. It's a 2006 Subaru, black. I really like it so far. I still have some lingering residual guilty feelings about abandoning Team Stick Shift and going over to the automatic-transmission dark side ;) but I'll probably get over it. ;) My left foot has already become resigned to being, as they say in the corporate world, "made redundant." ;)

I bought the car from this guy called Ernie the Subaru Guru, the same guy from whom my mom bought her car last year. He basically goes to auctions and buys used Subarus, fixes them up, and resells them. He has an encylopedic knowledge of every year's models and what changed from one year to the next, etc., and he's very entertaining to listen to. When I drove up in my old 1997 Subaru, before he even showed me the car I was thinking of buying, he first popped the hood on my old car to check out the innards. Then he scolded me for not keeping the fluids topped up, and went into his garage for his equipment, and topped off the coolant and oil. LOL.

Oh, and the car I bought from him? It was originally sold in Bennington, Vermont, so on the rear of the car, in that space on the left where it shows the name of the dealership, it said "Bennington Subaru." Well Ernie removed the "nn" and the "ton" so now it says "Be ing Subaru." :)

Then I sold my old car to a chick on craigslist, which turned into a whole drama, but that's a story for another post.

Date: 2010-09-14 12:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kenboy.livejournal.com
Nice! What sort is it? We have an '03 Outback, stick, and an '05 Forester automatic. The Forester is our 2nd, both new; we just bought the Outback this past spring to replace my dead VW Passat. I like the Forester, but I really love my Outback!

Date: 2010-09-15 03:19 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mamajoan.livejournal.com
:) Well, I guess it's an Outback; I always get confused when they say both Legacy and Outback on the back. But that's what it is. *nod* My old one was too, and I loved it, at least until it started needing expensive repairs every two months. ;)

Date: 2010-09-15 03:26 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kenboy.livejournal.com
LOL, mine also has both on the back. Wish I knew why they do that!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:13 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios