Aug. 7th, 2008

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
This was supposed to be about the situations at both kids' childcare places, but the part about Ruthie got too long and I need to rewrite it to be coherent ;) so I'll just post this part for now.

Isaac's preschool gave me a "progress report" which I guess is the last one he will get. It basically said that he is brilliant, helpful, and an all-around great kid, which of course I knew. :) At the end it said something like "Isaac is a wonderful, helpful, amazing kid and we will really miss him." Okay, maybe they say that for every kid, but I can fool myself. ;)

I'm frustrated with the school system, though, because of the lack of communication. All to do with when school starts, and what to do about gaps in childcare coverage the first week of September. )

Anyway, I understand that this kind of egregious lack of communication / lack of consideration for the needs of working parents is par for the course with public-school systems, and I should just get used to it and live with it. I suppose I will, over time. But for now, I'm feeling extremely pissy about it. :P

more to come....
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
OK, this is like my third or fourth time trying to write this out. I keep getting bogged down in the details -- I waffle between wanting to include all the minutiae (for my own sake maybe, so that I can look back on it someday and ???) and just wanting to get out what's going on. And then when I say "okay, I'm throwing out everything I just wrote, and I'm going to just sum it up," it STILL comes out way too long! heh.

So the really short version is that Ruthie's daycare moved her up to the next level room (which they call preschool) and I am mostly happy about it, except that I'm irritated about the way in which they did it, and the ongoing problem of lack of communication. Which I've posted about here many times already. Basically, they just suck at communication.

The gory details, as briefly as I can manage, which still ain't all that brief )

OK...so this got long yet again. d'oh. ;) At least this time it was more coherent than the other attempts.

Anyway, the real bottom line, I think, is that Ruthie has moved on, and I think she's going to be happier in the new room once it all shakes out, and I'm happy about the reduction in cost. But I'm also still looking into other daycare options, because my office will be moving in a couple of weeks and the commute to/from Ruthie's current place is going to be a bitch. I have a few lines on places in the area of the new office, and we'll see whether that comes to anything.

Whew!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Phone not working at home, guess i forgot to pay the bill. Also, new mouse poop in kitchen. I am not having a good evening.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
  • 03:17 hungry, but bedtime. alas. story of my life. #
  • 18:54 Have been invited to officiate at a wedding in summer 2010. w00t! So excited! If Jennifer and Caty break up before then I will kill them ;) #
  • 22:19 Phone not working at home, guess i forgot to pay the bill. Also, new mouse poop in kitchen. I am not having a good evening. #
  • 22:34 @plastic_atomica I already have a mouse zapper trap in my kitchen. Apparently the mice fart in its general direction. :( #
  • 22:36 Anyway, I think the zapper is less cruel than other types of traps. At least it kills them instantly. or so I tell myself, sigh. #
Automatically shipped by LoudTwitter

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios