Jan. 30th, 2007

omg omg

Jan. 30th, 2007 10:09 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (yay!)
OMGWTFYAY!!! [livejournal.com profile] orbitalmechanic and T. are in China and they have their baby!! And they have named her Violet! And they are holding her and feeding her and all such stuff!!! And I am so excited! I'm literally in tears! Possibly I need caffeine! But OMG!!! YAY!!!
mamajoan: me in hammock (darth vader)
Today I received a letter from the unemployment office informing me that they have "received information that [I] may have refused an offer of work while collecting benefits" and that therefore I may be required to repay some of the benefits I've received.

Well, as you certainly know if you've been reading my journal, I have not received any offers of work. So I don't know where the hell this is coming from.

I called the number on the letter and spoke to some asshole who treated me like a criminal. He tells me that he can't disclose any information about the source of the "allegations" and that "it's in my best interest to be as forthcoming as possible." He says that I need to write a statement on the back of the letter and send it back to them. I say that I don't see how "forthcoming" I can be without knowing anything about the allegations. All I can write is that I haven't received any offers of employment. He repeats that I need to be "as forthcoming as possible." I repeat that it's hard to know what to say when he's being so vague.

Getting nowhere with that line of inquiry, I tried instead to ask him what would happen next. He says that after they receive my statement, they will "act on it." I said, what does that mean? He said that they will consider the entire case based on available information, and "take appropriate action." At this point I made a sort of exasperated half-laugh, half-sigh noise, and he goes, "This is no laughing matter, this is a fraud investigation." OMG!!! How am I supposed to not laugh when he's not telling me anything?!? I said again, what does "act on it" mean?? He says, "Prosecution."

I said, "So after receiving my statement, you'll notify me that you either are or aren't going to prosecute me?" He said, "Correct."

O. ... M. ... G.

I'm wracking my brains and I cannot for the life of me figure out who would be so cruel and vindictive as to do this to me, to tell the unemployment office that I had refused an offer of employment. Well, I have a couple of theories, but they seem so far-out wacky as to be almost totally implausible. And yet...it clearly has to be someone who knows my real name; so not just any random person surfing onto my LJ. But someone who wishes me ill. Is it YOU? Are you reading this even now and laughing your head off? I hope you fucking rot in hell.
mamajoan: me in hammock (waaah)
update )

in short: augh!
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I called the free legal advice hotline, where the woman said that I am entitled to a complete copy of my unemployment file. So tomorrow's agenda includes figuring out how to get it.

While I was talking to the free lawyer, got a call from the folks I interviewed with yesterday. They want me to come in again, which is promising. Since almost their entire staff is going offsite the rest of this week, it'll have to wait till next week. I told them Wednesday is good and they said they'd get back to me with an exact time.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I have nooooo idea how I managed to get this picture, but it cracks my shit up.



Also, it was time for a new default usericon of the two kids together. So here it is. ♥

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:43 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios