Sep. 1st, 2005

mamajoan: me in hammock (waaah)
OK, I'm sitting here all teary after reading some stupid news item about a woman in New Orleans who thought her daughter was dead in the hurricane but then got reunited with her. Siiigh.

Granted, such a thing would probably move me to tears any old time, but at this particular moment, it doesn't really help that I'm worn out from a tough night and crappy morning. I had a lot of trouble sleeping last night (oh, cruel biology! why do you mock me so?) and Isaac woke up at 1am and then again at 5:55, whereupon I took him into my bed and told him to go back to sleep. And then we both lay there for about an hour and a half, awake, and then I finally fell asleep (I'm pretty sure) and he rolled around on the bed singing "Twinkle Twinkle Little Star" to himself and doing a pretty good imitation of a wave-tossed dinghy upon the ocean. Or some shit like that, my point being, it's a waterbed and he was playing on it while I slept. It still does not seem to have occurred to him that he could get down off the bed and go play with his toys. Or my sharp knives and other dangerous items. I guess I should be grateful for that.

Anyway, the upshot being that although we didn't get out of bed till almost 8:30, it's not as if we *slept* till 8:30. I'm pretty sure Isaac has actually been fully awake the entire time since 5:55. The only reason I know I was asleep is that I had some weird dreams about grocery shopping into which his singing got incorporated.

And then I got him packed up and drove to gramma's house, and this was a rage-honing expedition in itself because there was so damn much traffic, and construction everywhere I turned, and it just really pissed me off. And paying $30 to fill up the car's tank didn't improve my mood any either.

And now I am at home and extremely belatedly realizing that I haven't had my caffeine today. And I don't think I have a bagel to go with it. Woe!

It's bad when you've only been up three hours and your lj-mood is already "exhausted," right?
mamajoan: me in hammock (piglet sigh)
http://www.gaspricewatch.com is national. It shows the highest and lowest prices reported nationwide, and you can search for the lowest prices in your area.

http://www.bostongasprices.com is a similar thing but just for the Boston area. For some reason, this one always gives me a "server busy" error on Firefox but loads fine in IE.

Anyone know of other sites for finding low gas prices?

This morning the gas station I went to had signs saying that their lowest octane was $2.89, but every pump had an "Out of Order" sign on the low-octane nozzle. I filled up with the second-lowest octane, which was $2.99 -- still cheaper than anything else I saw in my immediate area this morning.

You know what's sad? When I wrote the previous paragraph, I originally typed $1.89 and $1.99. Then as I was rereading it, it niggled at me with that "something isn't quite right" feeling. But took me another long moment to identify the problem. Sigh.

ARGH

Sep. 1st, 2005 12:56 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (waaah)
So I am literally so groggy I can't walk a straight line, and I had kind of decided that it would be more productive for me to take a nap than to try to work. But apparently they are ripping up the entire road one street over from me -- one very very short block over from me -- and I don't really think there's any chance of me being able to sleep through this noise that just started up.

ARGH.

I NEED MY NAP ASSHOLES. I HATE YOU ALL. WHAT DO WE NEED A NEW WATER MAIN FOR ANYWAY. YOU SUCK.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios