May. 2nd, 2005

mamajoan: me in hammock (wtf)
Wow. So some guys got arrested for "promoting obscenity" after building a snow-penis in their yard. Good thing I didn't know that was illegal during my freshman year of college. There's photographic evidence out there somewhere, of me with a snow dick. Is there a statute of limitations on promoting obscenity?

I'm sure there are any number of puns/jokes that I could be making here about the phrase "promoting obscenity," but I haven't had my caffeine yet so none of them come immediately to mind. I leave it as an exercise for the class.

oh, grow up

May. 2nd, 2005 12:02 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
With great reluctance and after much deliberation, I decided to decline [livejournal.com profile] shmuel's very kind offer of a ticket to the "Serenity" preview on Thursday.

I know that in some senses it sounds crazy. I adore(d) Firefly and am excited that they are making (have made) a movie of it, and I look forward very much to seeing the movie. So why wouldn't I jump at the chance to see it four months or so before everyone else?

But here's the thing -- the preview is 10pm on Thursday. I have to work Friday. And 10pm, while not actually past my bedtime, is past Isaac's, and is late for me nowadays. By the time I got home it would be 1am or later, and I'd be wired so I might not get to sleep until 2 or even 3. And Isaac wakes up at 6:30 some mornings! Not to mention all the hassle of arranging childcare for him for the evening.

I'm not saying I couldn't possibly do it. I could. I have even -- last Tuesday we didn't get home from the baseball game till after midnight and didn't get to sleep till 1am or so, and I had to be up at 6 for jury duty. And I survived that okay. Tired, but okay.

But the thing is, the calculation is different nowadays. Three years ago the calculation would have been, "how much sleep will I get, and how likely is it that I can function on that little sleep the next day?" Nowadays the calculation is, "how important is it really to see this movie four months early?" And the answer, quite simply, is "not that important." The only reason to see it now instead of in September would be to acquire "geek points" -- bragging rights, gloating abilities, "I've seen it and you haven't," etc. And you know what, that's just not very important when compared with the size of the disruption it would mean for my child, not to mention me, not to mention my mom who would have ended up with the burden of the child-care and attendant sleep disruption.

In everything, in all of life once you have a child, the first question is: what would be best for my child? And the answer here is: it would be best for my child for me to wait until September, when I can choose a movie showtime that is convenient, not be constrained to the one showtime that "they" have designated for the sneak preview. Especially after all the disruptions of last week, it would not be best for my child to have his schedule disrupted again, even if the majority of it would be occurring when he's asleep. And it would also not be best for him to have a super-tired mama on Friday and the weekend.

So, I'm not going. [livejournal.com profile] shmuel said that he has another friend to take the ticket, and I certainly greatly appreciate being the first person he offered it to, and hope he has a great time, along with everyone else who's going. (And I certainly also hope they'll remember to use spoiler space when they post about it! ;) )

To clarify, I'm not being defensive or trying to "justify"/"excuse" my decision here. I don't feel any need to justify myself to you people. ;) I'm just laying out my thought process, a brain-dump if you will.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Yesterday after seeing the Hitchhiker's Guide movie (about which I shall attempt to post later but for now merely say that I quite liked it despite the to-be-expected quibbles), I went over to J and T's place and got the raspberry and strawberry plants that they had so kindly offered me. Then my mom came over and we attempted to plant them. Now I remember why I never garden: because I am clueless and don't know what the hell I'm doing, and hate getting dirt under my fingernails.

But we managed to get the plants planted, and hopefully they will take root and bear fruit. Hee hee, I made a rhyme. Anyway, cross your fingers for my little berries.

Recently Kyan on "Queer Eye" told me (no, not in person, silly ... through the magic box in my living room) that jumping rope is a good, easy, effective form of aerobic exercise and you can do just ten minutes a day. Then I was in a store and they had jumpropes for sale and I said, "hey what the hell" so I grabbed one. Last night I tried actually jumping rope with it. Not surprisingly, I couldn't do much more than about two minutes (I am woefully out of shape, shut up), but I did it, and hopefully I'll keep at it and eventually be able to do more.

Isaac found it greatly entertaining and jumped along with me, which needless to say was the cutest thing evar. Then this morning he was running around the apt and saw the jumprope where I had hung it on a doorknob, and he started going "jump! jump!" and insisted that I take it and do some jumping so he could jump with me. LOL. My little drill sergeant!

Oops, I had more but I gotta run. To be continued....

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 06:07 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios