Feb. 19th, 2005

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
LOL -- Isaac seems to have picked up my habit of saying "thingie" when he doesn't know the word for something. It's cute. :) Also, he has begun enunciating his words better and putting the ending consonants on them, which is great -- e.g. his "book" now has a definite "k" at the end, so it's no longer confuseable with "bird" or "bowl." And, to my great amusement, he's started enunciating "boob" more, so that now instead of sounding like "boo" it sounds like "boop." With a very distinctive "p" sound on the end. Cracks me up every time! :)

I did get my massage today and it was lovely. Almost more than the physical relaxation/therapy aspect is the simple aspect of taking an hour to simply lie in a dark room, with soft music, having someone focused solely on my needs. Some of the same effect could be achieved just by dropping Isaac off with my mom and going back home for a 1-hour nap, but it wouldn't be as totally relaxing/decadent. So, that was nice.

Afterward, I stopped into the Galeria in Harvard Square hoping for soup from the soup shop, but they didn't have any vegetarian soups today (boo!) so instead I went to the Ben & Jerry's and got a cone. ;) Damn, I had almost forgotten how extremely tasty the oatmeal cookie chunk flavor is! I may need to acquire a pint of that. :P~~~~ Then I went back to my mom's place and Isaac wanted to taste my ice cream; of course he loved it and kept asking for "more thingie" (see above re: not knowing the word). I was giving him licks of it while I explained to my mom about the lack of soup, and somehow Isaac picked up on the word, and started saying "more soup!" meaning more ice cream. LOL!

Then mom went swimming and came back and we ordered in Chinese food and ate it and came home.

Operation Get Isaac to Eat More Before Bed is so far meeting with limited success. On the one hand, both last night and tonight I did manage to get him to eat a fair amount. On the other hand, both times it took a REALLY long time, so that by the time he was done it was way past the time when I usually start his bedtime routine. So he ended up getting to bed much later than usual both nights, which doesn't make me too happy. :( Last night he did sleep through, but woke up at the normal time -- I had kind of hoped maybe he'd sleep late since he went down late, but no such luck. We'll just see what happens tonight.

In other news: in my email to Isaac's sperm donor (which you know about if you've been reading my recent friend-locked posts), I gave a little Isaac status update, and to my surprise he wrote back saying that he too was fascinated/obsessed with buses as a kid. That was interesting. It hadn't even occurred to me that there might be a genetic component to Isaac's bus obsession. I had just assumed it was a normal kid thing (large vehicles are interesting). Or a boy thing, if I wanted to be un-PC about it, which I don't. Anyway, don't know what to make of that but it's interesting.

And now it's bedtime for me too. Some of that oatmeal cookie ice cream would go down really well right now. Ah well.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:37 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios