Oct. 6th, 2004

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Well, after I wrote my post last night, Isaac did a bit more walking. He certainly seemed to enjoy it. He has figured out how to get from sitting to standing *without* holding onto anything, so he would do that, and then toddle a few steps, then fall on his butt, give an annoyed whimper, get up, and do it all over again. :) It was so cool. I just stood and egged him on with lots of praise and clapping. LOL. OMG! My baby is a toddler!

Also, got a solution to the Friday night / playoff game / babysitting dilemma. I worked up my nerve to ask the daycare teachers (I don't know why I'm nervous about asking them, but I am) and one of the girls, a "floater" who works in whichever room needs her at the moment, said she could do it. She lives near the center so she can take Isaac to her place when the center closes at 6, and watch him there until I can come pick him up. It'll be a trek for me, but whatever, it's worth it to know that Isaac's with someone whom a) he knows, at least a little (she does spend a considerable amount of time working in the baby room), and b) I can trust, because the center doesn't hire just anyone, you know? She's a high-school student, I think she's 17 or 18, but very responsible, and one of the lead teachers told me that she's great with the kids. So I think it'll be fine. *whew* Yay!

In other Isaac news, did I mention that he loves to brush his teeth? LOL ... my mom taught him how to do it, and now we do it as part of his bedtime routine every night, but he also wants to do it at other times. He'll lead me into the bathroom and go "teeth! teeth!" Of course I always let him do it, because hey, if he thinks of tooth-brushing as fun, I want to encourage that, right? :)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Next Monday is Columbus Day (aka Thanksgiving to y'all wacky Canadian types) and I have it off. It's always a surprise, because this is the first job I've ever had where we got Columbus Day off, but a pleasant surprise of course. Anyway, my daycare will be open, and they had the usual sheet up asking whether we'd be in that day, and after some pondering, I marked yes. I decided it would be nice to take Isaac to daycare and have some free time to myself, to go look at cars or clean the house or nap or whatever. It'll mean a lot of extra driving, but I think it'll be worth it for the sanity factor. Plus, I have to pay for the whole week of daycare anyway, so if I don't use it, it's like throwing away $75.

There's absolutely no reason to feel guilty about that. Of course, I do anyway. Oh well.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios