Aug. 2nd, 2004

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
* Randomly, in the "silly things to be annoyed by" category, I'm annoyed by spam that uses "mtg" as an abbreviation for "mortgage." Actually, my mortgage guy used that too and it annoyed me then too. To me, "mtg" is meeting, so "best mtg rates" is meaningless. Hmf.

* Good weekend out at the cottage. Nice weather, good food, some relaxing times with other people on baby duty. The only downside was all the mosquito activity. Argh! Death to mosquitoes!

* Can't BELIEVE it's August already! What happened to my July?!

* I know it's expected of me, so here goes, I'll say it: The Red Sox traded Nomar. Boo-hoo. No, really, I'm sad about it, but I also think it was the right thing to do. And it was pretty much bound to happen, whether now or during the off-season, whatever. Now, whether the guys we got in the trade are worth it remains to be seen, but I'll tell ya this much, if pundits and fans in Boston had a hard time learning how to spell and pronounce Garciaparra, I'm not looking forward to the learning curve for Mientkiewicz. ;) ("mint-KAY-vitch" if you're wondering.) Anyway, [livejournal.com profile] plaidder and [livejournal.com profile] blunaris, enjoy our Nomah! He couldn't have happened to a nicer NL team.

And no, my mom is not planning to rename her cat. His name is Nomar, and Nomar he shall remain.

* Let's end the post on an up-note:


Days until Bush leaves office.


Designed by georgedorn and provided by Positronic Design.

Grab your own copy here.

not funny

Aug. 2nd, 2004 09:43 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (aeryn)
There's a car I often see on my way home from work, with a bumper sticker that reads I'm out of estrogen and I have a gun. My reaction is always a mixture of "I don't get it" and "That's not funny."

I mean, I'm pretty sure I get that what they mean is "I am a strong bitchy woman flush with the power of my femininity, so you better leave me alone," but in a funny way. But it just isn't funny. You could rephrase it a little less clumsily, like "I'm on the rag and I have a gun" or such, but it still wouldn't be funny. I'm sure there are ways that you could condense "I am woman, don't fuck with me" into a bumper-sticker-length slogan that would be funny, but that isn't one of them. Or is it just me?

This is bugging me perhaps more than is reasonable. Hmm.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios