Jul. 27th, 2004

mamajoan: me in hammock (spike)
This morning hasn't gone so well.

It all seemed fine until I was putting Isaac in his carseat and thought he felt a bit warm. But we were late so I just put him in and got going. He fell asleep en route and was cranky about waking up when we got to daycare. He didn't feel as warm any more when I took him out of the car, but I asked his teacher what she thought and she said he was a little warm so I had her take his temp. Of course he did NOT care for that at all. He doesn't much like being held by others while I'm around anyway, and being put on the changing table and stripped and having a cold thing held in his armpit was not on his agenda for the morning.

And then his temp was normal so I felt really bad about putting him through that. And he continued to be cranky even after we got him dressed and set him up with a bunch of toys. sigh.

Then I got to work and discovered a huge, enormous, humongous bug bite of some sort on the bottom of my thigh. It looks like I must have sat on some bug in the driver's seat of my car on the way from daycare to the office. It itches like crazy too, and you can't exactly go around the office scratching the underside of your thigh. Ugh.

On the bright side, I brought to the office that watermelon that was left over from the party, and seeing me walk in carrying a big ole watermelon provided much entertainment value for my coworkers. I carried a watermelon! (Ten points to the first person who identifies the reference.)

Anyway, here's hoping the day gets better hereafter. ;P
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
[livejournal.com profile] hawkeye7 posted an interesting summary of a court case that was decided today in Australia. At issue is whether Australian law allows an unmarried (i.e., single or lesbian) woman to receive fertility treatments. A sub-issue is whether a third party who's not involved in a court case can file an appeal in court, after the parties that *are* involved in the case have accepted the court's ruling.

Interesting stuff. Has anyone seen anything about this in the American media? No? I didn't think so. :P
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Lately Isaac thinks that the word "elbow" is hilarious. It's so cute. You just say "elbow" and he cracks up. When I'm changing his diaper he grabs my elbow to make me say it.

The absolute cutest thing he does, though, is dance along when he hears music. He sits in place and bounces his torso up and down. Cutest Thing EVER!!

He definitely understands a lot of language now. It's so fascinating and exciting to see him demonstrating how much he understands. I can say things like "go get the ball" or "put that toy on your head" and he does it. Last night he was playing with a block and I said "you could put that block on top of another block," and he looked around for another block, found one, and put his first one on it!

I've been using some signs with him, mostly "boob/nurse", "eat", "drink", "sleep", "bath." (Baby Signing is all the rage these days.) He definitely recognizes most of them although he hasn't signed anything back yet. BUT -- the other day I asked him, "are you hungry? do you want to eat?" and he took my hand and put it to my mouth -- making me make the "eat" sign! I was so excited. Now I have to start doing the same on him, helping him make the sign with his hands so he can learn how to do it. I'm happy though that he is learning he can manipulate me (literally) and use his hands and my hands to convey information. It's really exciting to be able to communicate with him even just this little bit!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:54 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios