Mar. 4th, 2004

mamajoan: me in hammock (spike)
I finally got my massage scheduled. This Saturday at 4pm. I can't wait. My back is freakin' killing me, and okay the massage probably won't help too much with that, but it'll feel nice. Is it Saturday yet?

Ow.

Alas, I think my back pain is mostly due to two things -- driving, and the cosleeping with Isaac. I can't really do any less driving than I already do (which is lots), and I don't plan to give up the cosleeping any time soon, so I'm pretty much SOL. I should call my chiropractor, though. I haven't been to her in ages. A better arrangement of pillows in my bed might also help.

(It occurred to me that once I move into the new house I'll have to find a new chiropractor. It's too bad, because I love her, but it'll just be too far to go. Maybe she can give me a rec. Meanwhile, anyone reading this need a chiropractor in the Waltham area? I can definitely recommend her.)

Ow. Really, seriously, ow. I may have to take some Tylenol. :P On the bright side, today I get a rare day of not having to drive at all, because it's my work at home day, and my mom has graciously offered to not only pick Isaac up, but also bring him back later. What would I do without her? I remember a time way back when, when I designated Saturdays as my no-driving day, because I got so burned out from all the commuting and needed at least one day off. Of course, it was easier to do back then since I lived in the middle of Cambridge with easy access to lots of public transportation options. Plus, no baby. Ah well.

Ow.

In other news, the other day I was in CVS trying (and failing) to buy motor oil, and unfortunately I stumbled across the display of evil evil 75%-off Valentine's chocolate. So of course I bought some, much to my chagrin. And it wasn't even the good stuff, it was one of those horrible Russell Stover samplers. Ick! So today I was in the kitchen, minding my own business, having my late finally-got-baby-to-sleep breakfast, and what should I hear calling my name but the evil evil box of chocolate.

Chocolate: Joooooooan!
Me: ...eh?
Chocolate: Joooooooan!
Me: Ack! It's you!
Chocolate: Yes, I'm still here. Cuz you haven't eaten me yet. 'Sup with that? Eat me!
Me: No. I am eating my nice heart-healthy Cheerios. With lots of fiber and stuff.
Chocolate: But you've finished your Cheerios, and you're still hungry!
Me: Get thee behind me, Satan!
Chocolate: Oh, don't be so damned melodramatic. You know you want me.
Me: Augh! *eats*

And now I feel all icky and stuff. Plus, ow. :P
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
It cracks me up how many pockets they put on baby clothes. The hell? Isaac has some pairs of pants and overalls with like five, six, eight pockets. And yes, sometimes they are fake "decorative" pockets, but many of them are real pockets. What on earth do they think he's going to have to put in a pocket? Hee hee!

One thing I love about daycare is that every day you get a little sheet showing how your kid's day went. In the morning when I drop Isaac off, I fill out the top of the sheet, putting what kind of mood he was in, how he slept, and when he last ate. Then throughout the day, the staff fills in the rest of the sheet. There's a section for eating where they write when, what, and how much he ate (e.g., "Bottle, 3 ounces" or "peas, 1/2 jar"), a section for sleeping where they show when his naps started and ended, and a section for diapers to show when they changed him and what was in the diaper. Then at the bottom they write a little note about what toys he played with and what activities he enjoyed. It's really cool.

Anyway, the editor in me is a bit annoyed/amused by the top part that I fill out, particularly the "Mood" section, in which the options are "Happy" and "Not usual self." To me, it begs the question; what if "happy" IS not the baby's usual self? If your baby were grumpy all the time, and he was grumpy this morning, you wouldn't be able to check either box. Heh. But that's just me being nitpicky. :)

(Also: new icon!)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I can't remember what I last told y'all about the house, so here's a recap:

* We put down an offer. The sellers accepted.
* We got an inspection and it found some problems.
* We asked the sellers to knock $14,300 off the price. They offered $10K. We accepted.
* Things stalled for a while because a) the sellers' lawyer went on vacation and b) the executor of the estate had not been approved by the courts. (The estate is selling the house and the executor needs to be approved before he can sign the sale paperwork.)

So, yesterday I got an email from my realtor letting me know that the courts had approved the executor. Yay!

Today I got an email from my lawyer saying that he spoke to the seller's lawyer (who is back from vacation) and they have agreed to delay the closing by a few weeks. We wanted this because we need some extra time to get our paperwork together for the condo conversion. We want to do our condo conversion at closing, rather than having to close as a 2-family and then convert later (thus incurring more fees). The issue was that the city board which approves condo conversions only meets once a month and we wouldn't have had the paperwork together in time for the March meeting. So, now we can get stuff together for the April meeting, and close on May 5th if all goes well. Yay!

April is going to be a busy month anyway, for various reasons, so it's just as well. If we close on May 5th and get all the work done on the place that needs done immediately, we should be able to move in by mid- or late May. Yay!

So, it's good news all around. Cross your fingers that everything continues to go smoothly!!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 08:37 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios