Jan. 5th, 2004

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Whoa, a lot has gone on since last I updated. Let's see if I can sum up:

* It's a new year. Whee.

* Watched many movies (on DVD) over the two holidays. Review post to come.

* Gave Isaac his first cheerios, bagels, banana (mashed), rice cereal. He spit 'em all out.

* Found out that the 16-year-old girl who lives upstairs is pregnant. Womanfully refrained from asking her mother whether abortion was under consideration.

* Found out that my grandmother is in hospital with undiagnosed condition, could be a cold, could be pneumonia. Medical care on weekends not up to par. Hope for some better news today.

* Found out that my brother is writing Harry Potter slash. Womanfully refrained from gagging, retching, or disowning him (tho I did call him a pervert - unsure whether that had any effect).

* Developed a very painful, apparently plugged milk duct in my left boob. Womanfully refrained from shrieking in pain every time Isaac nursed. (It seems much better today, thanks.)

* Yesterday, attended two parties w/Isaac. The first was a grown-up brunch thingie. Too much class (and eggnog) for my taste; on the plus side, blue-corn pancakes. The second was [livejournal.com profile] anotherjen's daughter's 3rd birthday party. Much more up my alley. Fun was had, cake eaten, presents opened. Ilana had difficulty grasping the concept; before each gift was opened she asked, "is this for me?" It was cute. This morning I dropped off Isaac to be babysat by Jen, and Ilana told me that she was six. When corrected that she is 3, she announced, "I'm free!" Yes, the "th" sound is a difficult one to master.

I think that pretty much covers the eventful, uh, events. Except of course all the stuff I'll be posting friends-locked shortly. ;)

as promised

Jan. 5th, 2004 02:40 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
The promised/threatened movie post.

I've seen more movies in the past two weeks than I had in the previous, like, year! Or at least since Isaac was born, that's for sure.

I already posted my LOTR:ROTK review. But here is a brief rundown on the movies that my mom and I watched on DVD over the holidays:

* Xmas Day, we watched "Chicago." I liked it a LOT. I thought all the actors were great, though I was particularly impressed with Catherine Zeta-Jones. I felt it was pretty evident that she had musical-theater training and Renee Zellweger didn't. I mean, RZ did a fine job, but she didn't have the, I dunno, flair that CZJ had. Or maybe the word is passion. Whatever. Anyway, the movie was a lotta fun. My only major quibble was the idea of spoiler ) But aside from that, loved it, and had the songs in my head for days. :)

* Boxing Day, we watched "Whale Rider." This is a very moving little New Zealander film about a young girl struggling to (according to the tagline) "fulfill her destiny" or (according to me) "be the grandson her grandfather always wanted." A really interesting and engaging movie, albeit with quite a predictable ending. And the acting, especially the little girl, was *excellent.*

* New Year's Eve, we watched "Bend It Like Beckham." Fabulous movie!! Everyone should see this one, immediately. Get thee to thy video rental place! Go now! True, the story treads much of the same ground covered by "My Big Fat Greek Wedding," but with a much different setting, and it doesn't feel hackneyed or derivative at all. Lots of laughs and a pretty satisfying ending. I may actually have to buy this one. LOVE the subplot with the mom's false assumption, esp. the hilarious bit about George Michael. ROTFL! And I discover that Jonathan Rhys-Meyers is still sexy even when he's not all glammed up. Slurp!

* New Year's Day, we watched "Pirates of the Caribbean." I have to say that although it was fun, I definitely didn't think it worth the huge fuss that certain of y'all have been making over it. Okay, yes, Johnny Depp is hot in kohl and leather, and yes, he is in fact the Gayest Pirate Ever(tm), but really, people, it was just not that good. And you know, it wasn't even all THAT slashy, even despite the presence of Orlando Bloom who apparently, in some people's minds, automatically equals slash regardless of context. ;) Plus, let's not even talk about plot holes large enough to drive the Millennium Falcon through. Oh, I lied, let's talk about at least one of them, like the fact that spoiler ) But maybe they'll go somewhere with that in the sequel.

Anyway, that's the quick summary of the movies we saw. And yes, on NYE when we got back from the video store, I did suddenly realize that we had rented two movies starring the same chick (Kiera Knightley(sp?)) all unintentional-like, and that was amusing. But, you know, whatever. ;)

Hey, watching movies is fun. I should do more of it. *thinks sadly about "Firefly" DVDs sitting unopened in her apartment*

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios