May. 28th, 2003

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Happy belated birthday to [livejournal.com profile] munoz!

In cheery news, went to the first birthing class last night (well, the fifth of six, but the first for us) and it went well. It was weird coming in on the tail end when all these people knew each other and such, but they were nice, so it was okay. Also, there were brownies.

In irritating news, I emailed this guy who had posted on craigslist saying that he had several apartments for rent. I sent him a brief note asking whether he had any deleaded apartments. He wrote back saying no, sorry, he didn't, and "Look around a bit, you'll find some." Dude, okay, say you don't have any, but don't editorialize, okay? Maybe I'm just snarky, but that last bit really struck me as patronizing. What the fuck do you think I'm doing? "Look around a bit"? Gee, thanks, that never would have occurred to me. Deleaded apartments are just lurking around every corner if only I would look around and notice them! Jerk.

Ahem, okay, I feel better now. Had to get that off my chest here so I didn't go sending it to him.

In amusing or interesting (or, okay, possibly boring) news, I have finally begun to develop stretch marks. I was starting to wonder whether they'd ever appear, and I was kind of ambivalent about that, because on the one hand they're ugly, but on the other hand, hello, proud badge of motherhood! And so forth. So I'm mostly glad to see them starting to pop up. My mom took more belly pix last night, but thanks to WinXP's weird quirk where it can't recognize a CompactFlash card bigger than 32MB, I haven't been able to upload them yet. Hmf.

For future reference, something that's deeply weird is a spinach bagel with peanut butter on. Now, you might say: a spinach bagel in and of itself is fairly weird. And you'd get no argument from me on that point. But I like spinach bagels okay. With peanut butter, though, I can't really recommend 'em. Just a little too weird.

More later.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I forgot to mention a dream I had the other night. You know how sometimes your dreams are surreal and bizarre and you can't figure out what the hell they mean? Yeah, this wasn't like that. ;)

Before I went to sleep that night, chickpea had hiccups for the longest time. It was kind of annoying and plus I felt bad for him/her (even though the books say hiccups aren't uncomfortable for baby; but how would they know?). So then I dreamt that I went to the doctor and he (in the dream it was a male OB/GYN, not my female midwife) said that what I thought were hiccups were actually contractions, and that I was 7 centimeters dilated.

Heh. Yeah, sometimes my subconscious can be awfully unsubtle. ;) Impatient much?

yum

May. 28th, 2003 05:02 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I just scarfed down a whole pound of strawberries in like five minutes. Yum! And I don't even have to feel guilty about it because, strawberries! fruit! good for you! :)

Reason To Love Summer #693: strawberries. Nuff said.

not that it's summer yet, exactly, but we're gettin' there.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios