May. 14th, 2003

la la la

May. 14th, 2003 12:37 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Chorus rehearsal was okay last night. Some of the soloists were there to do some of the solo bits. That was cool. Also some of the dancers were there and we got to see some of the dances they'll be doing while we sing. Dido and Aeneas is still a horrible, horrible piece of music, but oh well. It might turn out to be fun, at least since it's the first time we're doing anything with actual, like, plot, and costumes and scenery and acting. (The soloists acting. Not us. It's enough trouble getting us to sing on pitch.)

"When do you want her to die?" --our conductor to the choreographer, in re Dido.

Partway through rehearsal I found myself trying to work out how the story of Dido and Aeneas could be rewritten with Smallville's Clark and Lex, respectively, in the main roles. Chloe would, of course, be Belinda. So who are the witches? Lionel and some of his minions? Gough and Millar, more likely. ;)

Speaking of Smallville, on Monday night I got caught up by watching the previous two episodes. Last night there was another one so I'm behind again, but at least I'm only behind by one episode. I thought the one with Zachary Bryan(sp?) was lame and last week's ep, "Accelerate," was deliciously creepy (although overly heavy on Lana).

I am, however, three Buffy episodes behind. :( I hope to watch them all this weekend so I can watch the finale along with everyone else.

Anyway, getting back to last night's rehearsal, I asked the concert producer whether it would be okay for me to wear sweatpants in the concert -- we're supposed to wear long black pants, and I don't have any that fit except my sweatpants, and I don't want to go buy a pair of black maternity pants just for this one thing. She said it would probably be okay. But she also said she might have some black pants with very stretchy waistbands and she'll bring some of them in for me to try on.

I still have to buy a black shirt for the concert though. Usually we wear black pants and white shirts, but this time around it's black shirts too so I gotta get one. That shouldn't be too hard; it doesn't have to be a fancy shirt.

After rehearsal we went to a new Moroccan restaurant and ordered way too much food because we didn't know how big the portions would be. It was crazy how much food we had. But it was all *really* good. And really expensive, alas, but ah well. Also, for dessert there was chocolate mousse. Mmm.

The fluorescent lights in my office are flickering. It's driving me insane. I turned off the flickering one, but now it feels too dim because the room is only half as lit as usual. Argh! I asked our office manager to call maintenance and she said she would. Sigh.

anyway, lunchtime, more later.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
The good news is that the woman my mom knows, who works in the maternity ward at "my" hospital, finally called me back about birthing classes.

The bad news is that the all-day class, which she had said was on Sunday, June 15th, is actually on Saturday, June 14th. Which is now officially* the date of my baby shower. SIGH!
* "officially," because we sent out invitations and everything.

She gave me a couple of phone numbers to call to see about other classes, and said she might know someone else who teaches weekly classes on Tuesday nights, and said she will find out about that and let me know. But it's not looking very good at this point, since it's less than ten weeks till my due date and supposedly you're supposed to have completed your class before you get too close.

If she had gotten back to me when I first called her like a week ago, before we sent out the invites, we could maybe have changed the date of the shower, but it's too late now. Oh well. I guess I don't need a birthing class after all. *sigh, shrug*
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
The chick called back again, and said that she talked to another birth-class-teaching chick, name of Lori or Laurie, and Laurie will "work with" me to work something out. Her class is a six-week thing with sessions every Tuesday night, and she said that even if I had to come in on the middle and take session 5 and then 6 and then 1 and etc., it would be okay, or if that couldn't be worked out, she would even do a one-on-one session with me. Isn't that sweet? Anyway, I have her phone number and I gotta call her tonight sometime after 7pm to make some arrangements. *cross fingers*

The maintenance guy came and replaced the fluorescent lightbulbs in my office, and now they don't flicker any more. Yay.
mamajoan: me in hammock (smiling little me)
In case you hadn't heard, there is supposed to be a lunar eclipse tomorrow (Thursday 5/15). The eclipse should be occurring between about 10pm and midnight Eastern time, or 7pm and 9pm Pacific time, with totality (the point of full eclipse) beginning around 11:15pm EST/8:15pm PST.

A lunar eclipse occurs when the Earth passes between the sun and the moon, such that the Earth's shadow completely covers the moon, causing it to appear "blotted out" by the Earth's shadow. It does not in fact cause the sun to be blocked out from view on Earth, causing the Earth to fall into complete darkness and life as we know it to end, as the play-by-play announcer on tonight's Red Sox game has claimed, causing the entire telecast to devolve into hilarity. (Seriously, it's about twenty minutes since he said it, and they're still speechless with laughter. No more caffeine for those guys, please.)

I'm excited. I hope the weather will cooperate! It's been a long time since I've seen an eclipse, and this one is supposed to be really good. More info on this eclipse, and eclipses in general, from NASA: http://sunearth.gsfc.nasa.gov/eclipse/extra/TLE2003May15.html

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:40 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios