May. 1st, 2003

mamajoan: me in hammock (red sox)
The weather gods are angry at me for making fun of their minions, the meteorologists, in my post a couple days ago. I laughed at them for first saying that today's weather would be cold and rainy, and then gradually amending that to warm and sunny. Alas, the gods took their revenge by making it cold and rainy. :P The one day of this week that's *not* warm and beautiful, is also the one day of this week on which I have tickets for the Red Sox game. Sigh. Stupid weather gods, why must you vex me?

Oh well. They're saying it'll be a low of 50-55 tonight during the game, which is still a good 20 degrees warmer than the last game I attended, so there's that. I just hope it doesn't rain throughout the day so that the field is too soggy for play -- and that it doesn't rain during the actual game. Much. Or at least, since I'm trying not to be too demanding here ... if they do have to postpone the game, can they do it BEFORE I spend 45 minutes and $5 hauling my ass down to the stadium? Sigh.

I'm working at home again today, to accommodate the game (my other gripe about today's game -- all the other games this week started at 7pm, but tonight's starts at 6pm). At least this means I don't have to drive on the highway in the rain, which is of the good. Also, Bini loves it when I stay home all day. He's curled up next to me on the sofa, happily snoozing away. Of course, that's what he'd be doing if I weren't here, too. ;)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I've been pretty horrified by some of the posts lately in [livejournal.com profile] pregnantwomen and by things I've heard from pregnant or small-baby-having friends in recent days. Specifically, stuff that they are saying about their husbands' attitudes toward the new or impending baby, the pregnancy, etc. It actually makes me glad I'm doing this all on my own!

It seems like a lot of these husbands are still stuck in, like, the 1950s. They don't understand the physical and emotional changes their wives are going through, and they don't care to make an effort to understand same. They have no sympathy for how crappy their wives are feeling. If she's too tired to cook dinner, or if she complains about her aching back or whatever, he tells her to get over it, or even says that she wouldn't be having these problems if she weren't getting so fat. (!!!) He doesn't pitch in with the housework, the cooking, the care of their other kids, or the care of the new baby when it arrives. He won't read the books for husbands of pregnant women (apparently there are some really great books out there specifically aimed at the expecting father to help him understand and prepare for the process). He won't go to the prenatal appointments, basically shows no interest in getting involved with the pregnancy at all -- but at the same time, he expects his wife to be exactly the same woman she's always been, just with a bigger belly, and he has no patience for the changes she displays.

I really find this disheartening. In my fairly limited experience, the men I know who are fathers have not been like this. I have a couple of coworkers who either have small babies or are expecting them soon, and generally these men are involved with the whole process -- coming in late to work so they can accompany their wives to doctors' visits, reading the books, going to the childbirth classes, the whole bit. And once the baby arrives, these men are generally over the moon. My one coworker is completely in love with his little daughter. It's just so cute. He lights up whenever he talks about her. And he takes great care of her, doesn't just make his wife do all the baby work. He changes the diapers, bathes the baby, entertains the baby, and so forth. This is how it SHOULD be, dammit. But apparently the men I know are in the minority in this case.

Anyway, it saddens me to see these other women talking about their super-insensitive husbands. And it makes me glad again and again that I don't have to deal with any of that! (If I did have a man sharing this experience with me, he would SO not get away with any of that crap. He would be cooking, cleaning, and attending to my every need, or he'd be out the door! ;) )
mamajoan: me in hammock (peace)
Happy Beltane to all my pagan pals. Meanwhile, I think [livejournal.com profile] plaidder thought I was kidding when I told her that today is "Loyalty Day" according to the US gov't. Read all about it. You might want to have some ginger ale or Dramamine handy for the nausea.

Meanwhile, in more entertaining news, I'm watching a rerun of "Two Guys and a Girl" and damn, is Nate Fillion hot! *fans self* And to think how much I always disliked him on "One Life to Live"! *shakes head*

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios