Mar. 23rd, 2003

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Welcome my pal [livejournal.com profile] mishaslair to livejournal! Yay. :)

I now have two LJ friends named Misha, one male and one female. :) OK, no one else cares, but I find it amusing. :)

Someone on an email list said I should give my baby a gender-neutral name (like Chris, Leslie, Dana etc.). I have nothing against gender-neutral names as such, but I'm not going to choose a name *because* of that ... I used to want to have a son and name him Ashley, like in Gone with the Wind, but now I just think he would get teased for having a girly name. Alas. *ponders* Or maybe people would just think I named him for Bruce Campbell in Evil Dead? In which case it would violate my very firm "no fannish names" rule. Ah well.

As a longtime Army of Darkness/Evil Dead fan, I find it a little weird that now whenever I hear the term "evil dead" I think of Xander/Spike slash. On account of that's what Xander always calls Spike ... I don't even really like Xander/Spike. Xander's just too het, Scott Bakula fantasies notwithstanding.

I think that's enough stream-of-consciousness for one post. Later I'll post actual substance about the protest I attended yesterday. Possibly with pictures. I know you can't wait.
mamajoan: me in hammock (peace)
I posted my pictures of yesterday's rally on my website, along with a summary/report of the day, which is basically a modified version of the post I sent to ACIDIC about it. Check it all out here.

condensed version of the report )

An interesting, and positive, experience all around. Well, except for the horrible pain. I *so* have to start going to the chiropractor again. I still couldn't walk properly even after a long hot bath. Sigh.
mamajoan: me in hammock (peace)
I decided to just go ahead and turn my pregnant-belly-pictures directory on my website into an actual "about my pregnancy" page. So I did. Not much there, just a bit of info about chickpea and me, and a link to the picture page. I removed all the nekkid pix now that I'm linking to it from my homepage -- the files are still there, just not linked to.

In other news: I used to enjoy watching the Oscars and Emmys and Golden Globes and all those glitzy award shows. Even on years when no movie I'd seen or show I watched was nominated in major categories, I still liked to tune in to see what the stars were wearing, hear their lame jokes, speculate about why they were sitting with whom they were sitting with, and even, yes, hear the acceptance speeches.

But then a few years back I realized that I wasn't enjoying it any more. I'm sure that the bloatedness of the ceremony (with all the stupid special-interest montages and crap, such that it's like fifteen minutes of filler between every awarding of an actual award) was part of it, but part was also just that I stopped giving a crap about the rest of it too. The jokes were lame, the gossip was boring, the acceptance speeches were too few and far between, and you can log on to one of at least three dozen different websites the next day to see a list of the winners, not to mention pictures of what people were wearing. So why bother? was the conclusion I came to. It just doesn't do anything for me any more.

Which is just to explain why people need to give some context *g* when posting something like, "Wow, Michael Moore rocks!" or "What? [insert name here] was robbed!" Cuz I'm sitting here scratching my head and thinking, "huh?" :)

And on yet another completely unrelated note, I'm so glad that the weather has been nice lately and is forecast to continue in the 50s for at least the next few days (I don't tend to believe weather forecasts beyond three or four days into the future). Even aside from the fact that I just plain hate cold weather and love warm weather, it's also going to get a lot easier to dress myself once the weather warms up for good*. Most of my maternity pants are too light to wear in chilly weather, and I hate wearing layers of sweaters anyway. :P So yay for warming up!
* I'm not taking any chances on saying that it's all uphill from here weatherwise. I haven't forgotten the April Fools Day blizzard of '97!

Oh, and I realize that due to war and such I never posted about my new cable-modem. So the short version is: I got a cable-modem. :) I'll post the longer version, uh, sometime. :)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios