Feb. 22nd, 2003

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
For the second or possibly third time in recent weeks, I dreamt about making nice with Ben Affleck. He sort-of apologized for tormenting me during junior high and at summer camp, and we hung out in my mom's kitchen chatting about our younger brothers. I have to wonder what message my subconscious is trying to send me with these stupid dreams. I'm already over the whole Ben Affleck thing, dammit! I've made the conscious decision to put it behind me! I suspect that it's a metaphor for some other unfinished emotional business that I need to deal with, but I can't decide what that might be. Sigh.

(Later, I dreamt about swimming with sharks. No, literally. There was me, swimming the ocean, and there were sharks. I was trying to herd them or something. Then I was standing in the shallow part of the water with the head of sales at my company, and I saw something on the horizon that I couldn't make out because I wasn't wearing my glasses, and it turned out to be a tidal wave which bowled me over. Later, there were more sharks, and also turtles. That's twice recently I've dreamt about turtles. WTF?)

Anyway, today I went maternity-clothes shopping ... again! ;) I had seen in the yellow pages a maternity store with the word "outlet" in its name, so I thought maybe it would be cheaper (it wasn't). I called a few friends and found one who would go with me. It was definitely more fun with her along. I tried on approximately ten million pairs of pants and ended up buying two pairs of jeans, one pair of sweatpants, and one bra. the boring details )

Afterward, I was totally exhausted and dying of hunger. Note to self: Eat more than a tiny bowl of cereal and an orange before shopping expeditions! So we went for bagel sandwiches, then did some of my friend's shopping, and then we went our separate ways. I met another friend for dinner at Mary Chung, which is the best Chinese food around. We almost always go to Toscanini's for ice cream after dining at Mary's, but we were too full. I thought of stopping at the supermarket for Ben & Jerry's on the way home, but I stepped in a big puddle of icy water while getting into my car, so my foot was all wet and squishy, and I didn't want to walk around a supermarket with it. I just wanted to get home and get into clean dry socks!

Man, is this weather nuts or what? After the blizzard, we had two days of temperatures near 50F, and now we're having 40F temps and pouring rain. I actually like the rain, because it's helping the snow to melt ... but I also spent much more time out-of-doors today than I usually do, so I got exceedingly wet. Ah well, at least the snow is soft enough now that I was able to get my car back into the driveway again. :)

'Course, now that I'm home and dry and warm again, I'm really regretting not having stopped for that ice cream. ;) Oh well. I have chocolate. :) And my comfy new maternity clothes make me happy. Yay. :)

I Never

Feb. 22nd, 2003 11:48 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Another meme I couldn't resist...

1. Are there any classes of food you won't eat?
Well, the obvious is meat. And that, for me, includes poultry and seafood as well. I can't think of any other "classes" of food that I won't eat, unless maybe "diet/lite" counts. ;)

2. Are there any whole genres of TV you won't watch?
Reality shows, that's about it. Pretty much anything else I might say would have at least one exception. Sigh. I watch too much TV.

3. What colors will you never wear?
There are colors I avoid, but I don't know about never. I have a couple of bright red t-shirts that every time I think about wearing them I go, "ugh, but it's so RED!" I like red, but these shirts are just too bright. OTOH, my bathrobe is red (but no one ever sees me in it). I'm not crazy about orange either, but I'd wear it if the piece of clothing were right. I avoid white when possible, just because it stains so easily.

4. Music styles?
Country. Boybands. Most rap. Most opera.

5. Actors whose movies you refuse to see on principle.
Used to be Ben Affleck (see previous post) but now, I don't think there's anyone. Wait, maybe Gerard Depardieu(sp?). You know, because of the whole having sex with 12-year-olds thing.

6. Categories of film that you avoid like the plague.
Gross-out teen comedies a la American Pie, Something About Mary, etc. Kung-fu or fighter movies, i.e. anything with Jet Li or Van Damme/Steven Seagal/etc. Anything else, see #2.

7. Types of cuisine you won't eat.
I take a LOT of convincing to eat Mexican. Being as I'm a vegetarian and allergic to tomatoes, it's pretty hard to find anything Mexican that I can eat. Plus I'm not big on greasy.

By the same token, I obviously don't eat a lot of BBQ either. ;)

I'm not hugely fond of Japanese food (kind of ironic since I just spent a week in Japan?) but I can usually find something.

8. Breeds of dog or cat you would never own.
I have trouble envisioning myself owning *any* kind of dog; I'm a certified cat person. Retrievers are nice enough, though.

I wouldn't want one of those weird new types of cats that are being bred to have shorter legs. I think that's evil and wrong. The same goes for cats that are bred to be so flat-faced they have trouble breathing. But there really aren't that many different kinds of cats, so other than that I'd probably be willing to be owned by any of 'em. :)

9. Household chore you hate enough to offload on the innocent and unsuspecting.
I live alone, so there's no such innocent or unsuspecting, alas. And I hate pretty much all household chores except when I'm in the right mood. I guess scrubbing the tub would be up there on the hate list; it's hard on my RSI-stricken wrists. I don't really mind the chores that most people consider icky, like cleaning the cat-box or the toilet. I'm not saying I LIKE them, but they're necessities of life and I don't mind them.

10. Most hated sport, either to play or to watch.
I don't play any sport, so that would be all of 'em. ;) Most hated sport to watch? *ponder* I think I'll go with tennis. Back and forth! Back and forth! Snore!

I don't really enjoy watching any sport other than baseball, but I wouldn't say I hate the rest of 'em; I'm just indifferent.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios