Feb. 11th, 2003

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
We got more snow yesterday (I nearly had a bad spinout while getting onto the highway on my way home) and it's cold again today. I'm wearing my new maternity pants (which as it turns out I hemmed just a *tiny* bit too much, sigh, but it's not too bad so I'm just going to go with it until the time comes to undo/redo it) with long-johns underneath which is quite cozy. It seems to me that the pants make my belly stick out more, although it's probably just that they're more form-fitting than the jeans I've been wearing.

First a brief bit of fluff: Can anyone point me to where the good recent Angel/Wesley slash is hiding? And by recent I mean "set during the current season." I know it must be out there somewhere.

And now, a discussion with actual substance! Try not to keel over from the shock. I've been thinking a lot about raising a child vegetarian... )

* By the way, to avoid pronoun confusion since I'm not finding out chickpea's gender, I've decided to alternate genders by post. In this post I called chickpea she/her, so next post it'll be he/him, and so forth.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
You know what completely kicks ass, is Trader Joe's chocolate-covered pretzels. Yuuuuum. How glad am I that they finally opened up the new Trader Joe's store near the office?

In amusing news, apparently chickpea either really likes or really hates rock music. I've played him* plenty of classical and he never seems to react, but now two days in a row, as soon as I put on Remy Zero, he starts kicking up a storm! He's either moshing, or saying "Turn off that crap! Play me some damn Mozart!" Or maybe he just really likes Smallville. ;) I gotta dig up some more rock-like music and play it for him and see what happens.

Speaking of Smallville, and by extension all things fannish, I watched another Angel last night. Now I'm only one Angel behind (until tomorrow night), plus two West Wings (also til tomorrow) and three Farscapes. Tonight my TiVo will be recording a whopping 5-and-a-half hours of TV and I'll be out till who knows when, so I'll be much more behind tomorrow than I am today....

And speaking of being out tonight, we're having a show-and-tell thing for the people who went on the Japan/Hawaii trip in December to show their pictures and tell their stories. People in the chorus who didn't get to go can come see and hear, and those of us who were on the trip will of course also be interested to see/hear what others were doing while we were doing what we did.... Anyway, it should be fun, and it's a pot-luck so hopefully there will be yummy, and substantial, munchies. It's at 7pm, which for many people is enough time to go home and have dinner first, but not for me. I'm hoping I remember correctly that I have a microwave mac-n-cheese in the freezer here at work, so I can eat that before I go to hold me in case all the munchies are chips and cookies.

I burned most, or possibly all, of my pictures onto a CD for the event -- people are bringing laptops so we can display our digital pix -- but I didn't get around to cropping/resizing all of them, so some are still at 1200x1600. Yikes. I hope the laptops will be able to display them sensibly. (I can't believe how many pictures I still have to crop, resize, upload to my website, and write descriptive text for...!) I also brought the baby kimonos to show people. :)

I think that's all the randomness I have for the moment. :)

* see note in previous post re: alternating pronouns.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios