Feb. 3rd, 2003

weather

Feb. 3rd, 2003 04:44 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
It's 45F outside! And sunny! It's thurkin' balmy! It feels like spring!

The sad part is, that's not sarcasm.

And it's supposed to be equally warm tomorrow. Now if only I thought that two days of 45° weather would melt the three-inch-thick sheet of ice that is my driveway. Alas, it will not, and we're supposed to drop back down to the 20s for the rest of the week. Sigh.

Maybe tomorrow I'll wear a skirt to work. ;)

grr!!!

Feb. 3rd, 2003 05:07 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (wtf)
It happened to [livejournal.com profile] xochiquetzl the other day, and now it happened to me! I got one of those "we archived your story on our new site, here's the URL, hope you don't mind!" emails. So I went to check out the site -- and of course they don't archive by author, nor had the email mentioned which story it was, so I had to search through all 26 of their "stories by first letter of title" pages to find it.

But eventually I do find it, and AUGH!!! It's one of the most horrible, unbelievably embarrassing awful Mulder/Scully PWPs that I wrote in the very early days of my X-Files fandom. I've done my best to eradicate this story from the 'net but of course it keeps popping up anyway. I'm ashamed to have written it. I immediately emailed the archivist back to say, "take this down asap!!!"

I also added a stern but (I hope) not *too* nasty paragraph about how you should really ask for permission BEFORE uploading a story to your archive. I mean, hello, isn't this just plain old common sense, not to mention common courtesy? The old "it's easier to ask forgiveness than permission" tenet doesn't apply here. If an author doesn't want her story on your archive, she's going to be a LOT more pissed at you for asking permission after the fact. If you ask first, she can be pleasant and say "thanks for the compliment, and sorry, but no."

I mean, this isn't just me, is it? (Okay, me and [livejournal.com profile] xochiquetzl?) Isn't it just plain RUDE to do it that way? In some ways I actually think it's *more* irritating than posting someone's story and *never* asking permission.

(ETA: They emailed back very quickly and were VERY apologetic, so I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt on the "we're new to this whole archiving thing" excuse.)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:46 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios