Nov. 4th, 2002

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
The Boston Globe did a front-page article about yesterday's anti-war rally! Yay! Read it here.

I was going to do a lengthy rant about people who don't vote, but I'll nutshell it for ya:

Assuming that you are 18+ and able-bodied and of sound mind, there is no excuse for not voting.

1. No, I'm sorry, "I was too busy/I forgot" does not qualify. The polls open at 7am and close at 8pm. You can get up a little early or get home a little late. You can find someone to watch the kids for fifteen minutes, or better yet, take the kids to the polling place so they can see the democratic process in action. Or, if you REALLY are too busy, you can simply call your local voting office and arrange to come in and vote early (although, by now it's probably a bit late for that).

2. No, I'm sorry, "there aren't any candidates I like" is also not an acceptable excuse. Go to the polls anyway and write in Mickey Mouse or Elvis or just "none of the above" on all the ballots. That counts as a vote. Simply staying home does not qualify as a protest against the system, because it's indistinguishable from being a lazy irresponsible jerk. The pollsters do not say "well, 30% of registered voters voted, 30% refused to vote as a protest, and the other 40% are just forgetful morons." Do you really want to be lumped in with the apathetic and the forgetful and the lazy?

3. No, I'm sorry, "I don't know enough about the candidates/issues" also doesn't cut it. Depending on how much of a responsible citizen you want to be, you can: a) vote for the offices you do know a little about, b) just vote the party line, c) do a little research, d) do a lot of research. These days everything is on the Internet, and it's trivially easy to find out who's running for what in your area and what they claim to stand for. Another great way to stay informed is to find an organization in your area that stands for the stuff you believe in -- the ACLU, the HRC, Planned Parenthood, the NRA, what have you -- and check their website. They will usually tell you whom the group endorses.

As for the issues, you don't have to be extremely well-informed to know how you feel about big things like taxes, education, health care, etc., do you? No. I bet you already know what your opinions are on those things. If you can't be bothered, or don't have time, to research the ballot questions in your area, just read them in the voting booth and go with your gut feeling.

To sum up: VOTE. You have to do it. It is not a right, it is not a privilege; it is a responsibility.

EDIT: If you don't know who your Senators and Representatives are, you can find this out at congress.org. You just enter your address and it will tell you the names of all your elected officials, as well as which district you're in. You can then use this info to find out who the other candidates are.

For those living in Massachusetts, info on major offices and ballot questions )

Also, if you're in California, you might want to check out [livejournal.com profile] tiggrrl who has posted several nice long posts recently about the various candidates and ballot questions.

End public service announcement.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
On various recent TV.

Firefly Rant )

And:
Angel spoilage )
Edit: D'oh! Forgot to address another aspect of the Angel episode )

Still haven't watched last week's Smallville episode, if you can believe that. I better watch it tonight or else I'll be two eps behind! I did finish the transcript of Buffy "Lessons" at last, though. Now I'm only what, three-soon-to-be-four Buffy transcripts behind? Sigh.

squee

Nov. 4th, 2002 04:14 pm
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I've been avoiding use of the word "squee" for the longest time, but now I'm finding that there are situations for which it's just the most appropriate word there is.

So: Squee! I ordered "Sports Night" on DVD!!! It's set for release tomorrow!! Jeremy! Isaac! Dan! Casey! Dan/Casey! Squee!

*falls over*

OK, I'm better now. I ordered it from deepdiscountdvd.com, because I got annoyed with Amazon playing games with me. First they tell me it qualifies for free shipping, but then I get to checkout and they're charging me for shipping. WTF? Screw that.

In other news, Amazon UK notified me that they've shipped my copy of Night Watch, the latest Terry Pratchett book. Yay! Er, I mean squee! My reading list is still piling up. I've barely made any progress at all on the 16 books I bought at Worldcon, plus last week I bought Dave Barry's new novel, and I just borrowed the second Harry Potter from my mom in hopes of reading it before I see the movie. Note to self: turn off TV and read more.

While I was in an ordering-stuff-online spree, I also ordered a set of breast- and penis-shaped cookie cutters for my annual cookie party. Last year, one of my friends made breast cookies using the circle cutter, and everyone was all "that sucks, we need real breast-shaped cookie cutters," so I promised to get some before this year's party. But it turns out that there's a wide variety of penis cookie-cutters and a very limited selection of breast ones. :( The set I got has four or five penises and only one pair of breasts. I shall keep looking, though.

On an even further removed tangent*, I think I need a Wesley, Lilah, or Wesley/Lilah icon. Anyone? Bueller?

*I bet you think it's related to the breast/penis thing, but you're wrong. Really. I swear. O:)

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios