May. 24th, 2002

baseball!

May. 24th, 2002 11:01 am
mamajoan: me in hammock (red sox)
Last night's Red Sox-Yankees game RULED. I love going to Fenway, always, but it's especially fun when Pedro Martinez is pitching and/or when the Yankees are in town, and both of these were true so it was great. The atmosphere in Fenway when we're playing the Yankees is so charged, you'd almost think it was a playoff game or something -- every ball or strike gets a big cheer or boo, the fans are on their feet every time the Sox pitcher has two strikes on a Yankee batter (even in the first inning!), and each time the bat makes contact, the whole crowd is riveted. It's so much fun. We were way far up the right-field line, but we could see fine, and I'm happy to be at Fenway no matter where we sit!

A lot of Yankee fans come up from NY for the games, and take their lives in their hands, I'm tellin' ya. A whole bunch of them were sitting near us, and they kept trying to start a chant of "Let's go Yankees," only to be utterly drowned out by our "Yankees Suck" chant. (I should point out that at Fenway, you'll hear huge groups of Sox fans chanting "Yankees Suck" even when the Sox are playing some other team. LOL!) Quite a fair number of people got booted by security, including one chick in a Yankees shirt who gave the whole crowd the finger as they cheered the cops who were escorting her out.

A guy also ran onto the field at one point, ran around the bases and slid in to home plate before they slapped the handcuffs on him and took him off to a nice comfy jail cell.

Anyway, Pedro went seven innings, struck out ten, walked two, and allowed only four hits and one run. The Sox got three runs and that was the final score, 3-1 Red Sox, lifting us back to two games over the Yanks in the AL East. Yay! (On the way out, we saw a guy with a sign that said, "Yankees Stuck... in second place!" LOL.)

(My Yankees hatred does have its limits. I'm happy to chant Yankees Suck and wear a Yankees Suck t-shirt, but I don't like the shirts that say "Jeter Swallows." That's over the line in my opinion.)

Anyway. The game ruled and I was hoarse from cheering. :) I even managed to have The Talk with mom, which ... is a whole other post. Stay tuned.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I'm off to Ohio for my college reunion. I'll probably check email at least once or twice, but I don't know whether I'll have time for lj, so, see y'all Monday night. Have a great holiday weekend (those of y'all in the USA) or a great weekend (the rest of y'all)!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios