Mar. 31st, 2002

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I tried frying the tofu tonight. It worked out fairly well. It tended to stick to the pan a lot, despite the oil, which was annoying. And of course you get that hot-oil-spitting effect where everything in the vicinity, e.g. your spatula hand, gets covered with oil, but what the hey. When it was all done, a dash of soy sauce in a bowl for dipping, and it was quite yummy. I think it may be too much work, however, to fry tofu and then include it in a wok stir-fry. I wonder if one could fry up a whole batch of it and then refrigerate it for later stir-frying. I don't know if that would work.

Of course, for tonight's experiment, I only did a little bit of tofu, so I'm still hungry. So hungry, in fact, that I just ate a mini-bag of potato chips, which is unusual for me; I don't really care for potato chips. (But my mom was just going to throw them away, and that seemed wrong!) Time to decide what else to feed myself tonight.

Lately, my favorite dish has been spaghetti mixed with canned artichoke hearts. A little bit of butter, sometimes a sprinkling of garlic powder, and yum! Trouble is, the artichokes are quite expensive ($2.99 for a can, and I use the entire can for one meal). So I had promised myself that I would wait for a sale and then stock up. They were on sale last week, and I didn't get to the grocery store till Thursday ... and then they only had one can left!! Wah! So now I have to decide whether to be bad and break my vow, or be good and *snif* go without until the next sale. In my twisted mind I have to punish myself for letting the sale "go to waste," so I'll probably end up going without. At least I have my new wok and Adventures With Tofu to keep things interesting.

In other food news, just when it starts to look like my stores of junkfood are going down, there's a new influx! My mom found a bag of leftover Christmas Reese's Cups that she had hidden from herself, and insisted that I take them. She also gave me the last ten or so leftover maple cookies from Montreal -- maple-leaf-shaped, sandwich cookies where the filling is maple-sugar creme. *drool* And, of course, there's still the Girl Scout Cookies -- one unopened and one almost-full box, not counting the "hidden" Thin Mints that I put in the freezer to discipline myself. Shyah.

Oh, and Twizzlers. Hani had another party last night -- whose expressed purpose was to help get rid of all the leftover food and drink from the LAST party -- and not nearly enough people showed. So when I left, I "helped" (heh) by taking a couple packages of Twizzlers. This after already having eaten one package, plus a Cadbury Creme Egg -- ugh! I like the Creme Eggs okay, but one of them is just almost too much. Why did I let other partygoers talk me into eating it? ;) (I didn't realize until today that they make Mini-Creme Eggs!)

This guy at the party, whom I remembered from Jessie's last party as well, told a funny joke, and now I'm wishing I remembered what it was. I just remember thinking, "Wow, I gotta remember that one." Argh.

Time to go figure out what else I'm gonna eat. Must resist siren song of Twizzlers!!

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios