Jan. 14th, 2002

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I dreamt that I was staying in a hotel (?) and had to ride the elevator up to my floor, but the elevator was more like just a platform whizzing through open air and I was getting scared. Oddly enough, this kind of thing is a recurring theme in my dreams -- an elevator that's too exposed and that takes detours to go gallivanting around the city before getting me to my hotel room. I say "oddly" because in reality I don't have much fear of heights or open spaces (although I'm not fond of roller coasters, and that's what the elevators in these dreams most resemble).

Anyway, so I was whizzing around on the elevator with Ray (coworker) and holding onto him for stability and he was reassuring me that it would be okay. Then he disappeared and more whizzing around and finally it deposited me in my room.

Then I was buying a lottery scratch-ticket and looking for a quiet place to sit down and scratch it, but then I was woken up by the phone ringing. :P Stupid doctor's office calling to say that, by the way, I have to go to Kenmore office for my asthma test, which is in the middle of Boston, which means it'll take forever and a half to get there. Argh.

not sure what the dream meant, although I know there was more to it than is described above, stuff that I can't remember clearly enough to put into words.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
Over the weekend I was struck by an inspiration for a really funny, and completely sex-free, fanfic. So I dashed it off, but then Siubhan said it was too skeletal and needs fleshing out. I hate it when she's right. :P

And then while watching "Queer As Folk" (which is a great show and you should watch it), I had an inspiration for a bad, but fun, crossover slash. I know I said I wouldn't write any more PWP, but crossovers don't count, right? 'Cause they're inherently silly? I can say that if I want to!

I did resist the urge to write more PWP several times over the weekend. It ain't easy! What I really need is an idea for a long epic that will keep me occupied. :)
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
don't you hate it when you burn your tongue on hot tea and it's numb and icky for hours or days afterward? :P

This one chick from match.com has been emailing me back and forth for a bit now. She seems pretty cool. I guess it's time to think about taking the next step, i.e., meeting IRL? Ack. Shyness kicking in. Initiate defensive maneuvers...

My brother swears I'll have the TiVo box by end of this week. I figure as long as I've got it up and running and figured out by the next new Buffy episode, that'll be cool. And that gives me at least another two weeks. (Snif! Reruns suck...) I'm a little worried that TiVo will get me watching even more TV than I already do. Over the holidays I was all, "hey, I don't really watch all that much TV," but now that stuff is coming back from reruns, I'm realizing that yeah, I kind of do. And, like, half the shows I want to watch are on Tuesday night. Same night as chorus rehearsals. Argh...
(lj does links, so check out the website for my chorus. I'm also the co-webmistress.)

Lately, Bini has been more playful than usual. I think he likes having a box that's just the right size for him. He's a big kitty (fat ... I'm not ashamed to say it! My cat is fat!) and his old box was a little confining. In his new one he'll play with a milk-bottle tie or his catnip toys and seems to have a blast. I'm happy about that. If only he would exercise more and lose some weight.

Speaking of which ... skipped the gym last Friday. Bad Joan! But my arm was all sore from the tetanus shot *whine*. I won't skip again. I promise. Maybe.

The plans for Japan are moving along. My mom wants to spend a couple of extra days and go to a city other than Tokyo after the official tour ends ... then she wants to spend a bunch of days in Hawaii. It sounds like a lot of fun, but it also adds up to thirteen work-days (assuming we get Xmas Day off but not Xmas Eve Day). So I gotta make sure I'll have that much time saved up. A lot can happen between now and then though; heck, I could have a new job by December. I sure hope so, anyway.

Laura sent me her Linux disks so now I have to pine for a spare machine to install it on. I could buy a new box and put the Linux on the old one. But I want a Mac G4 too. Wah!

More later.
mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
I feel bad about some stupid shit that I said recently. Sometimes I don't realize till later how shallow I sound. Sometimes I start to believe this shallow exterior that I started putting on when being deep scared people off. Maybe I've been acting shallow for too long and it's stopped being an act.

Ehh ... that's all I want to say about that.

Profile

mamajoan: me in hammock (Default)
mamajoan

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
1516 1718192021
2223242526 2728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:28 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios